Have you been cited for a moving violation? Did you just pay the ticket, or did you speak to an attorney regarding your options? If you just paid the ticket you also allowed them to assess points against your drivers license. Too many points will lead to loss of driving privileges. Here is some information on Missouri’s Point System & Penalties. As always, if you have any questions give us a call for your free consultation.
Missouri Point System & Penalties
Missouri law allows the Department of Revenue’s (DOR) Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division to suspend your driver’s license if you accumulate too many points on your driving record.
Additionally, you could face fines, reinstatement fees, community service, defensive driving/driver improvement requirements, and increased car insurance rates.
If you have specific questions about your MO driver’s license or driving record points, please contact the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR).
You earn driving record points whenever you are found guilty of disobeying traffic laws. The amount of points earned is based on the severity of the offense.
To find out how many points you have on your driving record, call (573) 526-2407.
To learn what infractions can receive points and how many are assessed for various violations, consult the Point System Violation Description Table.
Suspended License in Missouri
Driving record point accumulation is a serious matter.
If you accumulate 4 points or more in 12 months, the Missouri Department of Revenue will send you a warning letter stating that you are in danger of losing your driving privileges.
If you accumulate 8 points or more in 18 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. If you’ve previously had your driver’s license suspended for accumulating too many points, you’ll lose your driving privileges for:
60 days on the 2nd suspension.
90 days on any subsequent suspensions.
If you accumulate 12 points or more in 12 months, 18 points or more in 24 months, or 24 points or more in 36 months, your Missouri driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year.
Limited Driving Privilege
You cannot drive while your Missouri driver’s license is suspended unless you’ve applied for a limited driving privilege permit. This permit allows you to drive to school, work, doctor’s appointments, or other essential activities. However, not all drivers are eligible to receive such a permit.
Missouri Reinstatement Requirements
After your driver’s license has been suspended for violating the Missouri DOR point system, you’ll need to provide a completed SR-22 proof of insurance form from your insurance company, and pay a fee.
Check Your MO Driver’s License Status
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your Missouri driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will show whether your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your Missouri driver’s license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what the Missouri DMV has on record. Your driving record will also show how many points you have against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
It’s important to remember that driving record points, traffic offenses, and driver’s license suspensions may lead to an increase in your insurance rates. If you’ve recently received driving record points and your insurance rates have gone up, you should consider talking with your insurance agent to ask about options you may have for lowering your costs.